Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.
Please notejavascript is requiredfor full website functionality.

NW Community Transition Support Initiative

← Back 


The aim of North West Community Transition Support (CTS) is to improve post-school pathways and outcomes for young people with disabilities into further education, employment and community participation.

The CTS initiative has two key objectives:

  1. Improved career development practice in secondary schools, specifically the disability specific school settings in the region; and
  1. Increased opportunities for young people with a disability to participate in open employment, further education and their local communities.

The initiative has been working with 22 specialist schools across the NW Melbourne region to enhance the career planning process for young people with disabilities and their families. The initiative is working across sectors to broker partnerships and the cohesion of planning between schools, service providers, local government and industry to improve access to information on skills development and ultimately increase work and study opportunities for young people with a disability.

WynBay LLEN joined the consortium of the 7 LLENs in Northern and Western Melbourne region and successfully tendered for the Community Transition Support Initiative. The Department of Health and Human Services awarded funding to the 7 LLEN Consortium in 2013 and work commenced in mid 2013. Warringa Park School in Hoppers Crossing was one of the first few selected to participate in the School Community Partnership Pilot Project which has been successfully supported by WynBay LLEN.



WynBay LLEN worked with LLENs in the following council areas:

Northern Division:

Western Division:

Banyule City Council;

Darebin City Council;

Hume City Council;

Moreland City Council;

Nillumbik Shire Council;

Whittlesea City Council;

Yarra City Council;

Brimbank City Council;

Hobsons Bay City Council;

Maribyrnong City Council;

Melton City Council;

Melbourne City Council;

Moonee Valley City Council;